2020 GP School Sports Awards finalists unveiled!


To celebrate the excellence in school sports achieved in 2019, the 2020 Gauteng Department of Sports Arts Culture and Recreation together with the Department of Education will host the annual Gauteng School Sports Awards finalists been announced.

A total 42 finalists have been nominated in the 14 categories which recognize schools, teams, sporting codes and individual coaches, administrators and learner/athletes.

Gauteng has performed excellently over the years claiming the Championship title for 3 consecutive years in national the Winter Games and 2 consecutive years in the Summer Games. Team Gauteng are the reigning champions for both for 2019.

Winners in 15 categories will be announced at the ceremony at the Birchwood Conference Centre in Boksburg, Ekurhuleni, which includes handing out of special awards and prizes.

Once more Gauteng dominated the national championships in the 2019 summer and winter games, claiming the title for the 5th consecutive year for the former (winter games) and 3rd year running in the latter (summer games).

This year’s awards are held under the theme ‘Celebrating Today’s Stars, Tomorrow’s Champions’.

The list of finalists:

Coach of the year:

Israel Tshabadira Chess, Tebogo Mochobo Rugby, Nkosinathi Moyo Volleyball

Sports Code of the Year:

Rugby, Chess, Volleyball

Administrator of the Year:

Nkosilathi Moyo Volleyball, Johannes Petje Football, Johan van Nieuwenhuizen Rugby

Technical Official of the Year:

Sandile Dlamini Rugby, Americo Juma Softball Tanya Meyer Netball

Primary School Male Athlete of the Year:

Ockert Spies Laerskool Impala, Osvaldo Mangwana Troyeville primary, Karabo Mogapi Phuthula primary

Primary School Female Athlete of the Year:

Kajol Naidoo Chess, Tilana Landman Shooting pistol & Juskei, Alinafe Mbalwe Volleyball, Athletics & swimming

Secondary school Female athlete of the Year:

Dane Roets Athletics, Prudence Sekgodiso Athletics, Keenary Nana Volleyball

Secondary school Male athlete of the Year:

Sinesipho Dambile Athletics, Babongile Tshabalala Volleyball, Njabulo Malinga Volleyball

Learners with Special educational Needs (LSEN) School Female Athlete of the Year:

Basetsana Skosana- Itumeleng special school (Netball/gymnastics/rowing)

Thembelihle Ngema- Elandspark (Athletics/football/Netball)

Samkelisiwe Mtshali- Suiderberg (Athletics/football/Netball)

Learners with Special educational Needs (LSEN) School Male Athlete of the Year:

Mpumelelo Mtshagi- Gresswold Senior School (Athletics/Volleyball/Rugby)

Keagaogetswe Rasodi- Kwaggasrand LSEN School (Athletics/ Rugby/ Football)

Ofense Matsite- Itumeleng LSEN School (Athletics/Football)

Primary School of the year:

Impala Laerskool, Phumlani Primary, Loratong Primary

Secondary School sport of the Year:

Queens High School, Kempton Park Secondary School, Pretoria-North High

Sport Team of the Year:

Boys U/13 VOLLEYBALL Troyville Primary, Girls U/13 Chess Hlangabeza Primary, Netball U/13 Netball Khulasizwe Primary

LSEN school sport of the Year:

Elandspark Special School, Itumeleng Special School, Magalies Special School

Special Award(s): Recipient to be announced at the ceremony

Earn Free Bitcoin

Share your input on this article

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.